Tuning OUT

tv

Most of the people who know us think that we don’t watch a lot of television. And while it’s true that our kids don’t watch a lot of television (almost none at all, actually) and my husband does not watch a lot of television, the same could not be said of me.  For the past few years, I’ve been watching TV each night while my husband is at work, after the kids go to bed.  And while this is probably not considered “a lot” by typical standards, I have struggled with this for a while now.

In the past, I held strong convictions about the TV. For a long time in our marriage, we didn’t even own one. But after 9/11 we were given a small TV so that we could keep up with the news. Eventually, I started watching it for other things. And while I knew the shows I was watching contained immoral content, I still found myself sitting there each night for hours at a time.  I struggled over this for almost 3 years until I recently came to the conclusion that I was going to stop feeling guilty every time I turned the television on, and continue watching it until God personally convicted my heart. Well, I’m happy to say that this didn’t last long. Only a few days ago, I stumbled across a blog that offered all the conviction I needed. I’d like to share excerpts of these articles here and ask for your prayers as I endeavor to turn the TV off and KEEP it off.

CAUTION!!

FROM: http://chatswithanoldlady.blogspot.com/2008/03/warning.html

When we sit and watch disrespect for parents or spouses
through animation or sitcoms
that portray parents or husbands as complete idiots,
and show children or wives running the household,
(and can sit and laugh at it!)

Gods values and character is under attack in our lives.

CAUTION!!!

When we expose our mind to countless images
of sexual situations
or violence
we are opening ourselves up to lust,
and the conflicting messages of our society.
We are walking into a pit of impurity.

Ask yourself these questions:
“Will the hours spent watching this movie or TV show
help me respect my husband more,
help me be a better mom,
help my children learn godly values,
help me in my fight for purity,

prepare me to be a godly wife,
or help me interact with my brothers in Christ
in a God honoring way?”

I have had many people over the years
tell me that they aren’t affected by this.
I believe that if one can actually say that they are able
to soak themselves
in the philosophies and values of this world,
day after day…
…values that are directly in opposition to Gods word,
then that is evidence that they ARE affected,
and have become numb to it…
They are not able to hear Gods voice clearly.
We SHOULD be effected.
We shouldn’t be comfortable with it!

If we can say we aren’t affected by this,
then we do not know the truth about ourselves.
We do not realize how we are being affected,
or what we are capable of.

Proverbs gives us this
WARNING!!

“ENTER NOT INTO THE PATH OF EVIL MEN AND THE WICKED…
AVOID IT,
DO NOT GO ON IT;
TURN FROM IT AND PASS ON….
KEEP AND GUARD YOUR HEART
WITH ALL VIGILANCE,

AND ABOVE ALL THAT YOU GUARD, GUARD YOUR HEART,
FOR
OUT OF IT FLOW THE SPRINGS OF LIFE….
LET YOUR EYES LOOK RIGHT ON WITH
FIXED PURPOSE,
AND LET YOUR GAZE BE STRAIGHT BEFORE YOU.
CONSIDER WELL
THE PATH OF YOUR FEET,
AND LET ALL YOUR WAYS BE ESTABLISHED AND ORDERED
ARIGHT.
TURN NOT ASIDE TO THE RIGHT HAND OR TO THE LEFT.
REMOVE YOUR
FEET FROM EVIL.”

Does Nothing Really Mean Nothing?

From: http://chatswithanoldlady.blogspot.com/2008/01/does-nothing-really-mean-nothing.html

PSALMS 101:3 “I WILL PUT NOTHING WICKED BEFORE MY EYES. I HATE THE WORKS OF THOSE WHO TURN AWAY. I WILL NOT LET IT FASTEN IT’S GRIP ON ME!”
Can a person REALLY have a relationship with God, be led by His Spirit, and glorify God, and sit in front of such immorality at the same time? Are we saturating our minds with Scripture? Could we invite Jesus over to our homes tonight, for an evening of watching TV? Would we want Him here? What does GOD’S WORD say about what we are supposed to be putting into our mind?

WHAT DOES GODS WORD SAY….

WHAT IS ACCEPTABLE??

Psalm 19:14 “Let the words of my mouth and THE MEDITATION OF MY HEART be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.”

DOES THAT MEAN I SHOULD HATE SOME EVIL…OR ALL EVIL?
Psalm 97:10 “O you who love the Lord, hate evil…”

DOES THAT MEAN AVOID ALL EVIL, TURN FROM ALL EVIL, AND GUARD MY HEART ALL THE TIME?
Proverbs 4:14 “Enter not into the path of the wicked, and go not in the way of evil men. AVOID IT, DO NOT GO ON IT; TURN FROM IT, AND PASS ON!…23 KEEP AND GUARD YOUR HEART WITH ALL DILIGENCE, FOR OUT OF IT SPRING THE ISSUES OF LIFE.”

DOES THAT MEAN THAT IN ORDER TO FEAR AND WORSHIP THE LORD, I HAVE TO HATE WHAT HE HATES?
Proverbs 8:13 “The reverent fear and worshipful awe of the Lord (includes) THE HATRED OF EVIL: pride, arrogance the evil way, and perverted speech I hate.”

DOES THAT MEAN I MUST SHUN ALL IMMORALITY…
ICorinthians 6:18 “SHUN IMMORALITY and all sexual looseness (flee from impurity in thought, word, or deed!)…”

DOES THAT MEAN I CAN’T WATCH, TALK ABOUT, OR TAKE PART IN ANYTHING THAT IS NOT PURE?
I Thessalonians 4:7 “For God has not called us to impurity but to consecration (to dedicate ourselves to the most thorough purity)”

DOES THAT MEAN I MUST ABSTAIN FROM ALL EVIL..IN WHAT FORM OR KIND IT MAY BE?
I Thessalonians 5:22: “Abstain from evil (shrink from it and keep aloof from it)IN WHATEVER FORM OR WHATEVER KIND IT MAY BE!”

DOES THAT MEAN I NEED TO ‘BRACE UP MY MIND’ ALL THE TIME?

I Peter 1:13 “So brace up your minds; be sober (circumspect, morally alert); set your hope wholly and unchangeable on the grace that is coming to you when Jesus Christ is revealed.”

DOES NOTHING MEAN…NOTHING??
Psalms 101:3 “I will put NOTHING wicked before my eyes. I hate the works of those who turn away. I will not let it fasten it’s grip on me!”

Philippians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things.”

ARE WE TO BE RELEVANT, OR ARE WE TO BE SET APART AND HOLY?
I Peter 1:15,16 “…but like the Holy One who called you, be holy yourselves also in all your behavior; because it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

2 Peter 3:11: Since all these things are to be destroyed in this way, what sort of people ought you to be in holy conduct and godliness…”

DO WE NEED TO WATCH ALL THE SINFUL JUNK THAT IS OUT THERE, OR ARE WE TO BE AS BABES CONCERNING THOSE THINGS DONE IN DARKNESS?
I Corinthians 14:20 “Brethren, do not be children in your thinking; YET IN EVIL BE BABES, but in your thinking be mature.”

Ephesians 5:11-13 “Do not participate in the unfruitful deeds of darkness, but instead even expose them; 12 for it is disgraceful even to speak of the things which are done by them in secret.”

I pray that we will search our hearts, and allow God’s Word and His Spirit to show us how to be holy women. Set apart women. Women whose eyes are focused on Jesus and His standard of living. Women who glorify God. Women who see that God’s Word and His standard are more than “relevant” to meet the needs of the world, and culture in which we live.

AM I DEVOTED TO THE CAUSE OF CHRIST…OR AM I DEVOTED TO CHRIST?
Oswald Chambers says this:

“Beware of anything that competes with your loyalty to Jesus. The greatest
competitor of true devotion to Jesus is the “service” we do for Him. We are not
sent to do battle for God, but to be used by God in His battles. Are we more
devoted to service than we are to Jesus Himself?”

This entry was posted in Consecration, Miscellaneous, PERSONAL, Separation from the world. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

