Let Him Give… Not Grudgingly, or of Necessity

1give

I was looking through CS Lewis’ book, Mere Christianity, the other day and came across the following statement, regarding charity:

“I do not believe one can settle how much we ought to give. I am afraid the only safe rule is to give more than we can spare… If our charities do not at all pinch or hamper us, I should say they are too small… I am speaking now of “charities” in the common way. Particular cases of distress among your own relatives, friends, neighbors, or employees, which God, as it were, forces upon your notice, may demand much more: even to the crippling and endangering of your own position. For many of us the great obstacle to charity lies not in our luxurious living or desire for more money, but in our fear – fear of insecurity. This must often be recognized as a temptation. Sometimes our pride also hinders our charity; we are tempted to spend more than we ought on the showy forms of generosity (tipping, hospitality) and less than we ought on those who really need our help.” (1)

I read these words a week ago and they have been on my heart ever since. Today afforded me an opportunity to put this into practice on a very personal level. I am humbled by how difficult it was. I am grateful for the opportunity.

1.) CS Lewis, Mere Christianity, Touchstone, New York, New York, 1980, pg 82

Related Posts:

Daily Bread

In God We Trust

This entry was posted in Inspirational, Miscellaneous, PERSONAL, Stewardship. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let Him Give… Not Grudgingly, or of Necessity

  1. Pingback: Daily Bread | Rina Marie

  2. Pingback: Welfare is NOT based on Christian values | Rina Marie

  3. Pingback: Addendum to “Welfare not based on Christian values” | Rina Marie

  4. Pingback: Complaining about the very thing I asked God for | Rina Marie

  5. Pingback: Sometimes I Don’t Want to “Live in Faith” | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

