February 3, 2009

Outside my window… I’m at Dad’s house, where the neighbors are close by and it reminds me a lot of our old home.  I love the country, but sometimes I miss having neighbors close by!  My parents also have a fenced in yard where the kids have been playing outside and I’ve realized how much easier it is to let the kids run around outside to play when I know they’re safe in a fenced in area. The neighbor also has a fenced in yard, with a separate run for his dogs (where they go to potty.) I think this is a fantastic idea, and I think I may start praying for some fencing!

I am thinking…of how grateful I am for wonderful friends and neighbors and family who have helped us so much during the ice storms. Our friends have been checking on our animals for us, and spent hours yesterday cleaning up our yard while we weren’t even home. Another friend offered to let us stay in his house. Our next door neighbor came over to help us cut up two giant trees that were blocking us in our driveway, then helped pull our friends out of our yard when their tires got stuck! The couple up the road committed to contacting us when our power came back on and the neighbor across the street committed to doing the same.  My mother-in-law came through for us finantially, and my dad and step mom came through for us phyiscally, taking all seven of us in and making us feel SO welcomed.  It wasn’t long ago when we wouldn’t have had anywhere to go during a crisis like this, and didn’t know any of our neighbors.  I’m thankful that God has brought so many wonderful people into (and back into) our lives.

I am thankful… that I just received a call from our neighbor that our electricity is back on!

From the learning rooms… School has been out, due to bad weather. 😉

From the kitchen… Chaos!!! My lovely menu plan had to be ditched completely and I’m just making things up as I go, now!

I am wearing…A grey turtleneck and a khaki skirt from Shukr.

I am going… HOME!!! (tomorrow)

I am readingThe Sister Circle by Vonette Bright and Nancy Moser (I left my book at home!)

I am praying… for protection.

I am hearing… The sound of the older children playing at the kitchen table.

Around the house… Around MY house, things are a disaster. Around Dad’s house, I’ve been able to keep things relatively clean… with the exception of the room we’re staying in which is filled with clothes and bedding and mattresses and the baby’s crib.

One of my favorite things… Clean houses.  Dad’s house is spotless and I’m even more determined to keep my house cleaner!!!

A few plans for the rest of the week… Picking up our dog from the vet (where she’s being boarded and has been given a bath!), getting our van fixed (yep, still not done), and going home.

Here is picture thought I am sharing… Coming soon!

Related Posts:

My Daybook Entries
Daybook Entries by other “Simple Women”

 

This entry was posted in Daybook, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

