Sunday Linkage

A Friend of the Emporer Like Pontius Pilate, every christian has his own “emperor” to fear.   Pilate’s is the story of rationalizing sin. “It is the story of trying desperately to make it comfortable to do what you know to be the right thing, and giving up when you can’t.”

Making New Best Friends This is a simple article on making friends, but I found it to be profound in its application.  I especially love number two.  I think sometimes we’re so busy being self conscious about ourselves we hinder our ability to actively love other people.

Women Judging Women “Anyone can pass judgment- but can they lay down their lives in love, intercession and faith for the one judged? Can they target an area of need and rather than criticizing, fast and pray, asking God to supply the very virtue they feel lacking? And then persevere in that love-motivated prayer until that fallen area blooms in godliness? Such is the life Christ commands we follow!”

Is Married Life Easy? “Marriage is for pleasure, not for comfort. If you want a comfortable life, stay single. On the other hand, if you want the pleasure of having a meaningful relationship, get married. Just remember, this pleasure comes with a price.”

Can You Trust God With Your Womb? Many Christians are able to trust God with their fertility if it means that God will give them a “quiver full.”  But can we be just as ready to trust God with our fertility if God chooses not to give us children?

Why Natural?  A wonderful three part article on natural childbirth

Why Natural? (Part two)

Why Natural? (Part three)

Related Posts:

More “Sunday Linkage”

This entry was posted in Birth Control, Consecration, Criticism, Marriage, Miscellaneous, Parenting, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday Linkage

  1. Mrs. Parunak says:

    I loved that post about trusting God with your womb. What a great perspective.

  2. Denise Bright says:

    I too have wondered if it was a lack of trusting God with a womb that is barren. If God’s timing is perfect, and His ways are perfect, then would He not know best when and if a woman should have a baby. I think of all the money spent on fertility drugs… that could have bought a home for a homeless child with no family (adoption). Many of my friends have found themselves to be infertile; some adopted, then had biological children. Some adopted then found their health was bad. God knew when the time was right for Sarah and Abraham , Elizabeth, Rachael, Samuel’s mother…to have a child. There is war between Arabs and Israelies today because Sarah thought she could “help” God accomplish His plan. How many times is His perfect planned missed out on, by someone trying to “help” God? But how can I say anything to someone seeking/investing to have a biological child? I have had the satisfaction of giving birth and nursing each one of my 9. I have also experienced the pain and disappointment of expecting a child, then it arrives in a lifeless body.
    Those I have known who have been artificially fertilized seen very happy and normal, but I just can not help but wonder; What was God’s plan?

  3. Denise Bright says:

    Sorry about my previous spelling errors.
    I want to also admit that there was a time in my life that I interfered with God’s control over my fertility. I wanted to “help” God keep me from having a child every year, which seemed to be the pattern I was on. I was very much against abortion, so when my pro-abortion sister-in-law told me that using “the pill” was the same as abortion, my husband and I decided soon after that I would discontinue use of it and put our fertility in God’s hands. How many of God’s blessings did we miss out on, I also have to wonder?

    • Rina says:

      I agree with you, Denise, it’s a fine line we walk between trusting God and “helping” Him along. I also have a friend who has been unable to have a child (I’m planning to write something about that tomorrow, actually) and it’s heartbreaking to see her struggle. At the same time, I wonder whether trying to “help” things along is wrong. As you mentioned, though, how can I say anything to someone struggling with this? I’ve never been there. I don’t know what it’s like, and I don’t know what my response would be in that situation. All I can do is pray and support her to the best of my ability.
      (I have also suffered a miscarriage, but it was during my first trimester. I am truly sorry for your loss.)

Leave a Reply

