March 9, 2009

swdaybook

Outside my window… I cannot tell you how much I love living out in the country!  A few nights ago, as I was locking up for the night (it was pretty late), I saw what at first looked like a cat digging through our trash.  Upon closer inspection, this is what I saw:

night-visitor2

He was completely oblivious to me and I got to watch him for quite a while as he ate his dinner.  We’ve been up close and personal with so many wild creatures since moving here and I just love it.  I wish I could access all the pictures on my old computer, but since moving here we have encountered:

A flock of turkeys, a woodchuck, two geese, a crane who comes to visit regularly, several skunks (we used to leave dog food out on our back porch for them… until we got chickens and they started eating the eggs!), a screech owl (he had been injured by a car and we actually got to take care of him as we waited for a wild bird rescue to pick him up), several rabbits including a baby rabbit that one of the cats caught (we set him free of course!), several baby birds that have fallen out of their nests, and a HUGE moth.  I mean, the biggest moth I’ve ever seen (one of these days, when we get someone to pull the files off our old computer I’ll post that picture to show you. It’s amazing.)  Of course, we’ve had our fair share of rodents, too.  We had a whole colony of… um… members of the mouse family living under our back porch at one time.  They would come out of hiding each day right around the time that I would normally throw the kids leftover bread crusts and scraps to the birds outside.  They were adorable, and I absolutely loved to watch them.  But it wasn’t long before two became four and four became ten and we had to put poison out.  😦

Okay, now that I’ve grossed you out with my love of nature

Mooooving right along…

I am thinking… That perhaps I need to keep a little more to myself.  🙂

I am thankful for…Toshiba tech support and the Best Buy geek squad.  Seriously, I’ve called these guys at least 6 times since I’ve gotten my laptop.

From the kitchen… Cupboards are getting bare, today is grocery day and I’m really dreading trying to come up with a menu plan for this week!  I’ve had it too easy lately.  🙂

I am (thinking about) going… to the library today, and taking the kids to the park afterward.

I am reading… I just finished Witchcraft in the Church by Rick Godwin (wonderful book, by the way!) and am looking forward to diving into two books by Corrie Ten Boom, The Hiding Place and Tramp for the Lord.  It’s been years since I’ve read these books and I’m really excited about reading them again!

I am praying … For a friend of mine whose husband is getting his vasectomy reversal done this week!  Praying that all goes smoothly and that the operation is abundantly successful.

I am hearing… silence.  (It’s early in the morning)

Around the house… I’m going to pretend that I did not leave the dishes unwashed in the sink last night, that we did not pop popcorn and spill kernels all over the floor, that I did not allow the kids to go to bed without cleaning up their bedrooms first, and that my daughter did not smear soap all over her hair yesterday afternoon.  If, by chance, she did smear soap all in her hair yesterday then I’m going to pretend really hard that I immediately washed it out and didn’t leave it to become one huge mass of tangles.  lol

A few of my favorite things…

little-feet2

A few plans for the rest of the week… Going to visit my parents later on this week.  Other than that, not much going on.  Our dog has to have a bath again, so hopefully we’ll be doing that this week, too.  I love my dog, I really do, but she can work up a stink faster than any animal I’ve ever been around (with the exception of that skunk who used to visit our back porch.  I know that from personal experience, thanks to my husband!)

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

goo-and-horse

Related Posts:

Past Daybook Entries

Daybook entries from other “Simple Women


Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Daybook, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to March 9, 2009

  1. Rachel says:

    I’ve heard a lot about different Corrie Ten Boom books. I really need to check into that… I eventually have to take a hint when something keeps coming up!

    • Rina says:

      motherhen, I had no idea you had a blog! It never shows up under your name so I assumed you didn’t have one. I’m so glad that you do, and I’m looking forward to visiting it often!
      Rachel, I just left a comment on your blog about that book.

  2. motherhen68 says:

    We live out in the country too. One day last spring I sent my ds out to throw the trash. I heard a girlish shriek and he comes running in the house. I sent my dh to see what’s the ruckus and what the problem is.

    Apparently a possum had climbed into the trash to eat/lick some beef grease I had thrown in there. He got stuck and was unable to climb back out. It was pretty funny.

    Here’s the blog post I did. Funny, it was actually in October this all happened LOL. Life goes by too fast.

    http://motherhen68.wordpress.com/2007/10/06/random-saturday-photos/

  3. Mrs. Parunak says:

    I loved your pictures of the little feet and of your toddler and the horse! So charming.

    Living out in the country would be so fun. Seeing your beautiful pictures of it sure does whet my appetite

    • Rina says:

      Thank you, Mrs. P. I really love living out in the country. The land that surrounds us isn’t ours (and neither is the horse) but it’s so amazing to be able to look out the window and see all of that each day. Thank you for your comments on the pictures… I have another one I’ll be submitting for your critique soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

