March 16, 2009

swdaybook

Outside my window

buds21

Buds are on the trees and spring is almost here!!!

I am thinking… Of flowers and grass and hanging laundry out to dry again.

I am thankful for… Warm weather and blue skies and birds!

From the learning rooms… bitty-writing

Art.  🙂

From the kitchen… The Black Bean Sweet Potato Burrito recipe was a hit!

burritos

This was a great way for me to get more vegetables into the kids meals, and we did like the combination of black beans and sweet potatoes. I think that with some sour cream or yogurt (I wasn’t able to add it this time, because we had vanilla yogurt on hand, not plain) it would be even better, and we’re definitely going to try it again!  Thanks, everyone, for your tips and suggestions!

I am creating… Lots and lots of menus.  We have a few busy weeks ahead and I’m going to be doing a lot of cooking, which is good because I need all the practice I can get!

I am going… to be spending a lot of time outside this week.  🙂

I am reading… I just finished The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom.  Some highlights will be posted on Thursday.

I am looking forward to… buying some more chickens.  Our hen-to-rooster ratio isn’t good right now (four hens to two roosters – we recently lost another hen) and we really need some more!  I’m hoping to buy some “fancy” chicken breeds this year, along with our usual Buff Orpingtons.  Here are a few that I’m looking forward to getting this year:

Polish

Polish

Frizzle

Frizzle

Silkie

Silkie

Aren’t they cute?!

I am hearing… silence  (It’s nap time.)

Around the house… Open windows, fresh air!

One of my favorite things… Springtime (can you tell?)

A few plans for the rest of the week… Our friends Brian,  Tracy, and Alan are coming over this weekend, along with two more of our closest friends.  I am so excited about having everyone over together, and I’m looking forward to coming up with another Wheat-free, Yeast free, Sugar-free, Semi-Vegetarian Menu

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

bunchkin-and-goo

Related Posts:

More Daybook Entries

Daybook entries from other “Simple Women


This entry was posted in Daybook, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to March 16, 2009

  1. motherhen68 says:

    The close up of the flower is nice. Did you get a macro lens when you purchased your camera?

    I wanted a macro lens, but the ones I looked at were over 1500!! Yikes. I found an alternative that instead of a full lens you pop on, it’s a magnifying cover you place over your 30-70mm lens. I still haven’t bought it though, other things more pressing.

    • Rina says:

      Thanks, motherhen. This wasn’t done with a macro – although I’d love to have one. (Except that there are a thousand things I’d spend $1500 on before I’d buy a macro. Like a really awesome portrait lens. :)) This was taken with my 50mm 1.8, I just got in as close as I could and cropped it down.

  2. momstheword says:

    The pictures are cute. I accidentally was thinking you suddenly had three blogs and I visited both those blogs that you follow. I was thinking that you were co-blogging with someone. I guess because your blog isn’t listed on the page but on the sidebar and so I forgot (and it threw me)!

    • Rina says:

      Which reminds me that I need to update that. I added some more today, but still need to list a few more…. maybe that will help avoid confusion. A person might have three blogs, but it’s not likely I’d have twenty! 🙂

  3. Karinann says:

    The burrito looks delicious. Also like the close up of the flower. Can’t wait for Spring but not looking forward to the summer that follows.

  4. Rina!! Neat thoughts! Where is Mrs. Parunak these days?? Is she O.K.? I’ll have to try that black bean sweet potato thingy.

    • Rina says:

      Jena, as far as I know, everything is okay. The last time I heard from her (on Thursday) she mentioned that her husband was coming home from a business trip so she may just be spending time with him.
      Karinann, I don’t really love the heat of Summer, but I am looking forward to green grass and lots of daylight!

  5. Jerri says:

    I’ve read the Hiding Place lots of times! It is an awesome book that I will never forget.

    I loved the pictures of the chickens. I didn’t realize that so many breeds of chickens looked so different! I would have never guessed the Silkie one was a chicken!

    Have a wonderful week!

  6. Mrs. Parunak says:

    Those chickens are way too cute! What fun! I never saw any of those before. Are they as hardy as the more “normal” looking ones?

    • Rina says:

      As far as I know, they’re just fine but I’m not sure the silkies can handle extremely cold temps. They really aren’t great layers, though… I just want them to look cute in our yard. 🙂

  7. Christie says:

    I love that last picture… there’s something so precious about watching the way of an older sibling with the “baby”

Leave a Reply

