ALL means ALL

I have a tendency to get tongue tied, especially in new or stressful situations. I’m much more comfortable writing out my thoughts than speaking them, and it seems that I’m often saying the wrong things or saying them in a wrong way. There are times when my discomfort around strangers shows itself in ways that I think others may perceive as rudeness and when my lack of ability to “think on my feet” shows itself as anger or irritation. For instance, I remember a time when a young man asked me about my headcovering and why I wore it. At home on my computer I had a 50 page thesis on headcovering, but at that moment I had no idea what to say! I ended up being embarrassed and a little muddled, answered him briefly and then turned away. I wasn’t trying to be rude, but I’m afraid it must have seemed that way to the poor man who asked the question!  Things like that tend to happen to me fairly often, although I do believe that the more I break the bonds of fear and timidity, the less these kinds of experiences will haunt me. Nevertheless, for now, it still happens on occasion and until recently, I have always been very worried about how these kinds of incidences affect people’s perceptions of me, or worse, how they affect people’s perceptions of God. Because there are times when I do ministry with others and I’m convinced afterword that I said all the wrong things!

Not long ago, as I was pondering something else I said that I probably shouldn’t have, God dropped a verse of Scripture into my heart. It was Romans 8:28: “All things work together for good to those who love and serve the Lord.” I’ve often relied on this verse during difficult times in my life, but never before had I applied it to something so simple. God works ALL things together for good… even my mistakes! Even my sins. I am a daughter of the King. Everything I say, everything I do, is done under God’s umbrella. Will I make mistakes? Absolutely. Will I sin and stumble? Definitely. But God has given me a promise. He will take my mistakes, my blunders, my sins, and work them together for His good. Nothing I do can be done outside of this amazing, all encompassing, promise. That means that even when I say the wrong things, or say them in the wrong way, God is busy working them together for good. Thinking back, I can recall times when I have come home from a counseling situation or a ministry opportunity completely dejected because I know that I “did everything wrong.” Yet later, the same person tells me all about how the things I said or did helped them. Is this because I did everything right in that situation? No. It’s because God was busy taking the wrong things that I said and did and working them the RIGHT way in that person’s life. It’s because He is busy working ALL things together for good.

My selfish actions
My sinful deeds
My ungodly attitudes
My wrong words
My financial errors
My parenting mistakes

“God will work ALL things together for good.” That, my friends, is an incredible promise.

Related Posts:

Freedom to Fail

There is now no condemnation

 

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Guilt, Miscellaneous, Perfectionism, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ALL means ALL

  1. Karin says:

    That Scripture verse is one of my favorites and has gotten me through a lot of mess in my life!
    God Bless.

  2. Quinn says:

    I’m so grateful that you post about this topic. It truly is an encouragement to me as I have speaking problems as well. I would describe it as my words get jammed up, I can’t spit it out, and then I say the completely wrong word (not even relevant) and sound like a fool. Meanwhile, as I’m speaking to someone I’m telling myself in my head that no one cares about what I’m saying and I sound like a fool, etc… which makes me stumble up all the more.

    In addition to Rom. 8:28, which I believe is a verse every Christian ought to memorize, I am encouraged by Moses in Exodus 4:10-12

    And Moses said unto the LORD, O my Lord, I [am] not eloquent, neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: but I [am] slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.
    And the LORD said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the LORD? Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say.

    Thanks again for sharing this with us.

  3. Mrs. Parunak says:

    This one is so encouraging, especially the part about parenting mistakes. I’m always so afraid that I’m going to mess up the precious children God has placed in my care.

  4. Eric says:

    It’s good to read this, I have the exact two same problems. I want everything to be perfect from the start, and I know I can’t do it perfectly from the start, so I never start. And since I don’t start somewhere, I never get anywhere. The second one which is even worse is speaking to people. My brain is full of thoughts, and some times a point, or a truth becomes so vivid and so absolutely clear in my head that it always seems to amaze me that trying to relay these thoughts to other people ends up like one of my ‘never started, never accomplished anything’ projects. I know your frustration.

    • Rina says:

      Eric, I can SOOO relate to what you’re saying… and so can my husband. There are things we’ve both missed out on because we were too afraid we would fail. There is a quote my husband likes about this, but it’s slipped my mind at the moment so when I get my computer back (I’m typing at my Dad’s house right now) and have a chance to ask my husband, I’ll quote it on the next Thursday’s Thought. May we be strong and bold in Christ!

Leave a Reply

