Thursday's Thought – Merlin Carothers on Thankfulness

thank you

“The very act of praise releases the power of God into a set of circumstances and enables God to change them if that is His design. Very often it is our attitudes that hinder the solution of a problem…

… I have come to believe that the prayer of praise is the highest form of communion with God, and one that always releases a great deal of power into our lives. Praising Him is not something we do because we feel good; rather it is an act of obedience. Often the prayer of praise is done in sheer teeth-gritting willpower; yet when we persist in it, somehow the power of God is released into us and into the situation.”

Merlin Carothers, From Prison to Praise

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

1 Thessalonians 5:18

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thursday's Thought – Merlin Carothers on Thankfulness

  1. I agree! I just wrote a post about thankfulness today. 🙂

    • Rina says:

      Laryssa, thank you for mentioning your post, it’s really great. I agree with you about advertising… we try to keep our kids away from that as much as possible.
      Karin, it’s hard to say whether God *needs* our fellowship, per se, but He certainly desires it!

  2. Karin says:

    God has no need of our praise, but our desire to praise and thank Him is itself His gift to us.
    Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Mrs. Parunak says:

    …And suddenly, you’re back! I kept checking your blog and checking your blog. Then, I checked and found three posts! I sure did miss you. Glad to see you posting again.

    Thanks for the reminder to praise the Lord. I so often get caught up in all that I have to do and forget how vital it is to praise and thank the Lord.

    • Rina says:

      Thanks, Mrs. P! It’s so nice to know I’ve been missed. 🙂 I’m soooooo behind on my blog reading but I’ve been keeping your posts as “new” on my blog reader until I get the chance to sit down at the computer (without working on pictures!) for a few moments. Can’t wait to hear how that new baby is doing!

  4. Kgakgamatso says:

    Praise does really release God’ power in any given situation. Praise The Lord!!!

Leave a Reply

