Birthing Revival Through Prayer and Fasting

My husband and I have been praying for revival in our state, along with other close friends.  He recently wrote this to send in an email to those who are praying with us, and I thought I would share it here:

I have been impressed by God to continue in prayer and fasting for revival. A recent study I have done of past revival demonstrates that great moves of God have been birthed through prayer.

The Welsh revival in the early 1900’s was birthed out of prayer and intercession. Evan Roberts was the individual whom God used to bring about this movement. “Evan gave himself to frequent prayer and intercession” (1). His early meetings were characterized by prayer and intercession. Those meetings are described as follows: “strong moves of intercession flooded the room during each service and many times the services would go past midnight. Once, Evan prayed all night with a congregation and didn’t return home until the next morning. This small group of intercessors led by the young evangelist transformed the entire community. Some meetings lasted until 4am with crowds gathered outside for 6am prayer” (2).

Similarly, the Azusa street revival was birthed out of prayer. The revival was led by William Seymour, but Frank Bartlemann and others birthed it through prayer and intercession. He writes: “the Spirit is breathing prayer through us for a mighty, general outpouring. Great things are coming. We are asking largely that our joy may be full. God is moving. We are praying for the churches and the pastors. The Lord will visit those willing to yield to Him” (3).

The Red River revival was likewise birthed through prayer and fasting. Three years before the revival broke out, James MacGready, (the pastor of the Red River congregation), enlisted the help of interceding Christians who would sign a covenant of prayer. Once they agreed, they covenanted to pray every Saturday evening and Sunday morning for revival in Logan county. Additionally, they agreed to spend the third Saturday of the month fasting for revival. Things in Logan County didn’t improve immediately, actually they got worse, but MacGready encouraged them to continue in prayer. He wrote on the covenantal agreement: “when we consider the Word and the promises of a compassionate God to the poor lost family of Adam, we find the strongest encouragement for Christians to pray in faith — to ask in the name of Jesus for the conversion of their fellow men … with these promises before us, we feel encouraged to unite our supplications to a prayer hearing God, for the outpouring of His Spirit, that His people may be quickened and comforted, and that our children, and sinners generally, may be converted” (4).

Hence, let us continue steadfast in prayer that God will open the spiritual door at Red River. Let us pray for a revival in our state that will shake the nation, and eventually the world, standing on the promise of God which says: “Ask of me, and I will make the nations your inheritance, the ends of the earth your possession” (Psalm 2:8).

1.) Liardon, Roberts; God’s Generals; Whittaker House, New Kinsington, PA; 1996 (pg. 81)

2.) Ibid, pg 85

3.) Bartlemann, Frank; Azusa Street; Whittaker House, New Kinsington, PA, 1982; (pg 9, 14,15)

4.) Marshall, Peter; Manuel, David; From Sea to Shining Sea; Revell Company, Old Tappan, NJ, 1986; (p 60-61)

This entry was posted in Fasting, Miscellaneous, PERSONAL, Prayer, Spiritual Warfare. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birthing Revival Through Prayer and Fasting

  1. Mrs. Parunak says:

    It’s really a blessing how the Lord so often allows us to have a part in what He wants to do by laying a burden on us to pray. The stamina found by the intercessors discussed here sounds like a miraculous gift.

  2. I am 18 and I am starting my first fast, but it is something I just did on a whim. Do you maybe have any advice for me? I will be tracking my own story here http://yovia.com/blogs/davidappelman/2009/07/27/fasting/ Any advice would be much appreciated =)

    • Rina says:

      Hi, David. To be honest, my husband has studied a lot more about fasting than I have, so I’m going to let him answer your question once he gets back from work. Hopefully, we’ll have that posted sometime tomorrow.

  3. Erika says:

    *Smiles* We’ve been hearing a lot about impending revival in Wisconsin as well. Did you know that in 1910, William Seymour prophesied that a revival, bigger than Azusa Street would break out in 100 years? 2010 is next year!

    Thank you for this post- this wonderful reminder. I am on day two of a Daniel fast, and I had thought my purpose was of a personal nature, I know these words were shared just for me, because this fast should not be about me. As I’m spending time seeking His face, I am also going to spend time in earnest prayer for revival to break. It’s getting so close- I can feel it sometimes, I can feel that we’re on that bubble, that any moment, it’s just going to burst forth like a dam and gush forth and sweep our nation into something like we’ve never seen before.

    I will also pray that you will see the fruits of your labor. Be blessed dear friend!

    • Rina says:

      Erika, I HAVE heard about the revival prophesied for 2010. It will be interesting to see what happens… we’re praying that it will go nation wide! 🙂 I will be praying for you during your fast. Any idea how long it will last?

  4. Erika says:

    My fast is ten days- the same length of time Daniel fasted in chapter 1 of his book. Today is day three, and it’s much harder than I thought it would be… day ten seems very far away, and I would treasure your prayers!

    Some of the words that we have heard about this revival is that it is going to have hot spots around the country- not just one place like so many revivals before. I can’t wait to read about the revival fire breaking out in your neck of the woods! In addition to the prayer and fasting, we have been hearing over and over the joy and love are also keys to this breakthrough. We’ve certainly been tested on our joy, and the love can be so hard sometimes (as evidenced by your post today)!

    • Rina says:

      We’ve been on a Daniel fast, too, and I know it’s not easy. I can’t remember if we went a full 10 days, though. It’s something I really want to do again, but I just haven’t dug my toes in and DONE it. I’d love to know how yours goes. I’ve also heard that about the revival – about it being around the country. I hadn’t heard about joy and love being keys to the breakthrough, though. Thanks for making me aware of that.

Leave a Reply

