July 27, 2009

swdaybook

Outside my window

Clipboard01

I’m happy to say that our dog has NOT killed any chickens, which was my main concern when we got her.  Thankfully, as you can see, they get along just fine and have worked out a comfortable arrangement between themselves… the dog provides the chickens with fresh kibble, and the chickens provide the dog with fresh eggs.  😦

I am thinking… Of the amazing post I read last night, and my resolve to be a better mother.

I am thankful for… people like Mrs. Parunak and so many others who inspire me in so many ways.  For the way God is helping my brother through some hard times.   For my husband who continues to support me in everything I do.  For my step mom who has prayed me through every photo shoot, and been my “agent” in so many ways. For my mother-in-law, for always being there for me.  For our friend Alan, who has been with us through everything, offering Godly council, support, and encouragement every step of the way. And for so many other friends and family members, too numerous to name!

From the kitchen… About a month ago, I made a resolution.  Often times, toward the end of the day, I would be tired and not feel like cleaning.  So I would leave a sink full of dirty dishes and toys in the living room floor (and other messes that I’m not going to talk about) for the morning, and the mess would be waiting for me first thing when I woke up.  I’m not a morning person, and waking up to a messy house just made it that much worse. So, having heard before that it takes 15 days to start a new habit, I resolved, for one month, to keep the kitchen and living room clean at all times.  Well, I have to tell you, it’s been amazing!!!  I don’t feel overwhelmed first thing in the morning, I don’t worry about company coming over unexpectedly anymore, and I can actually FIND things in the house again!  At this point, it truly has become a habit, and I can’t imagine NOT cleaning things up before bed any longer.  I thought I would share this because I’m sure there are other messy moms out there like me, and this has really been helpful for me.  I didn’t overwhelm myself with some new commitment, in fact, for the first few weeks the back of the house (bedrooms, bathroom, hallway) was a major disaster, all of the time.  I was committed only to keeping the kitchen and living room clean.  That, of course, has been seeping into other areas and the entire house has been much nicer to live in.  My next step is to make a new resolution: bathrooms and hallway must be picked up each night as well as kitchen and living room.  Baby steps, ‘yall.  Baby steps.

I am hearing… the laughter of my 1 year old, who is throwing cherrios at his sister.  I try not to sweat the small stuff.  🙂

Around the house… The dishes are done and the living room is clean!  😉

One of my favorite things… when the first thing I see when I wake up in the morning is a huge grin on my baby’s face.  That’s the BEST.

A few plans for the rest of the week… Nothing much, finishing up on some more pictures, and hoping to have another photo shoot next week – my first maternity shoot!

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

The girls love to rock the baby to sleep, and sometimes they put him down in funny places.  The other night, they made his bed in an empty laundry basket:

Picture 008

Related Posts:

More Daybook entries

Daybook entries from other “Simple Women




Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in Daybook, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to July 27, 2009

  1. Jerri says:

    I totally agree with you about keeping the kitchen and living room picked up before bedtime. It makes life easier!

    Your photos are awesome! My middle daughter will be having senior pictures made soon. I wish we lived close enough that I could send her to you!

  2. realmomma says:

    Can I just say that I loved your daybook. You are a gifted photographer, for one thing. But I’m so glad you shared your housekeeping resolutions, too. I struggle to keep the house together — it’s just not “my thing” — I’m not good at it, really. I like your ideas.

    Also, that is great that your little guy lets his siblings rock him to sleep wherever they choose. He must be pretty easy-going.

    • Rina says:

      “Realmomma,” tank you for your kind words about my photography. I’m still learning, for sure, but I really love it. I’m glad you were helped by my housekeeping resolutions! If you end up doing what I did, I’d love to hear how it goes!

  3. Mrs. Parunak says:

    Thanks for the inspiration on the kitchen and living room. I think I’ll head out there and follow your great example just as soon as the baby is asleep.

    And thanks also for your kind linky love!

    • Rina says:

      Glad I could be of help to you… you’re always such a help to me! I’m getting ready to write a comment on your blog, I CANNOT tell you how much it’s meant to me to have read that post… I’ve been thinking about it all day for the past two days – every time I’m tempted to get frustrated or put the kids off so I can get something done. You truly inspire me.

Leave a Reply

