August 17, 2009

swdaybook

Outside my window... The kids decided to plant pumpkins this year and we put about eight vines in the ground last week.  We were careful to fence them off, to keep the chickens away, but unfortunately the fence did nothing to keep our Clifford dog out.  Did you know that pumpkins are irresistible to certain members of the Great Pyrenees family?  Particularly those members who are already facing the threat of re-homing due to their penchant for eating eggs from the coop and digging through the trash.  😦  Here our some pictures from our pumpkin planting day.  I haven’t taken any recent pictures of the three pumpkins that still remain.  It’s just too depressing.  🙂

01

02

03

04

This is our guard-owl, who keeps the chickens safe from hawks.

05

Unfortunately, he does nothing to protect pumpkins from marauding dogs.

I am thankful … That God has decided to place another precious child into our care.  I’m thankful that our children are so excited about the new baby, and I’m thankful to be back in touch with an old friend.

From the learning rooms… We’re going to be getting our first curriculum soon!  Up until now, we’ve been making up our own but we’ve decided to go with Our Fathers World for this year.  I’m really excited about that.

From the kitchen… I think this lead-in is meant to assume that us “simple women” know something about cooking and are always whipping up something delicious in the kitchen.  Well, I just learned how to bake squash, yall.  I’ve cooked it in a skillet and I’ve steamed it, but I’d never baked it before.  As it turns out, baked squash is delicious and the only kind of squash my children will eat.  I’m glad I have friends who can cook and share all these marvelous little secrets like:  Squash can be baked.

I am reading… The Shack, by William Young.  I’d heard so much about it that I finally decided to read it for myself and have been completely disappointed. I won’t go into the theology behind the book – everyone has an opinion and I don’t feel the need to add mine, but what I was surprised by is how irritating and incredibly tedious I’ve found it.  It’s taken me forever to get through this book.  I find myself doing just about anything – even laundry! – just to have an excuse not to sit down and read it.  I keep slugging through it, figuring it HAS to get better at some point, but now I’m at the last few pages and I doubt I’ll even finish it.  If you want a GOOD book to read that is similar, I would suggest The Great Divorce, by C.S. Lewis, or The Screwtape Letters.  Much, MUCH better books.

Here is picture I am sharing…

Long overdue, here is a picture of our two remaining kittens.  I’m sorry to say that the others didn’t make it.

Kitten 1 aka: “the play kitty”

kitten1

Kitten 2 with her mother.  Aka: “the big eye kitty” and “momma cat”  (my kids aren’t very original with names)  🙂

kitten2

.

.

Have a great week, everyone!

.

.

Related Posts:

More Daybook entries

Daybook entries by other “Simple Women

.

.


 

This entry was posted in Daybook, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to August 17, 2009

  1. Jerri says:

    Love your guard-owl!

    I’ve been meaning to try baked squash but never have. Thanks for the motivation to follow through on it.

  2. Mona says:

    I am so sorry to hear about the pumpkins! Seems the owl needs to learn some new tricks! Were the children disappointed? It seems they put alot of effort into it as well.

    I hope you enjoy your new curriculum! It is a blessing to find soemthing that works for our family!

    Have a blessed day, I have enjoyed several of your other posts and look forward to returning.

  3. Kristy Meyer says:

    What a busy week you are having! Enjoy the craziness of it all! Sorry to hear about the pumpkins…what a bummer. The kitties are sweet and the owl is hilarious, too bad he isn’t that helpful. We are going to use MFW this year as well, can’t wait for it to arrive…although we are still using ABeka for Math and Language. Hope it’s a perfect fit for your family. Have a great week and thanks for sharing your daybook!
    Blessings,
    Kristy

  4. Tracy says:

    Rina,
    I don’t know if the other post went through but after she saw the pumpkin pictures Tracy is walking around the house quoting your third daughter. Can you please make sure she doesn’t grow up.
    Brian

    • Rina says:

      LOL, I wish I could, Brian!
      Mrs. P, do you plan on eating the mystery squash? 😉 As for the book, I know a lot of people who have really loved it so don’t let me ruin it for you if you want to read it, but truly there are better books out there.

  5. Mrs. Parunak says:

    Sorry about your pumpkins. I planted “pumpkin” seeds this year, and got a beautiful vine, only it’s producing some kind of yellow squash, NOT pumpkins. I’m not joking. I even bought these seeds from Lowes. Bizarre. But it’s OK because one of last year’s pumpkins that we threw in the compost pile went to seed, and we have a huge vine in there with a couple pumpkins and tons of flowers, so we may get some pumpkins after all.

    I am so glad to hear your assessment of The Shack. I heard about it from my Mom who said that she had heard so much about it she was thinking about reading it just to see what all the fuss was about. I don’t think she’s read it yet, though, and I’m thinking I may not waste my time, either, based on what you wrote here.

  6. Mrs. Parunak says:

    I THINK we’ll probably eat it. I’m just a tad nervous because I don’t know what it is. It looks just like summer squash, inside and out, only it’s round like a ball.

    • Rina says:

      Mrs. P, I don’t have a clue what it might be. I’m pretty limited in my knowledge of vegetables. 🙂
      Meghann, I actually have a copy of that book you can have, if you want me to send it to you.

  7. You are cracking me up with your book comments! I also had to say that I LOVED the Great Divorce as well…wish I had my copy back that I lent out eight years ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

