Thursday’s (eventually I’ll actually post one of these on a Thursday) Thought: Jillian Michaels on Desire

Ok, confession: I don’t watch a lot of TV, but I LOVE watching The Biggest Loser.  It is so inspiring to me, I always want to get on the treadmill and run five miles after watching Jillian Michaels yell and fuss at her team members, pushing them to the point of nausea and sometimes tears.  And I always end each night’s episode vowing that tomorrow I’ll get through ALL of the 30 day shred or the Banish Fat Boost Metabolism workout without stopping – NOT EVEN ONCE!  I love how determined I am to accomplish this goal until 5 minutes into the next day’s workout.  🙂  Anyway, I recently discovered that Jillian Michaels is on facebook and I’ve shamelessly “liked” her page and spent lots of time trolling through her posts.  The other day I found this wonderful quote, that I thought I’d share.  It reminds me a lot of a quote I shared last week, by CS Lewis:

“Many of us are taught to settle & made to feel guilty if we are single-minded about going after something we want. We go on to believe that our desires are selfish, our self-love is arrogant & pompous. Society tells us it is okay to want things, but only within reason & at a price. We’re allowed to want comfort, but in …due time & within limits. Ask yourself this: how much deprivation, how much self-effacement must you suffer through before you act on your desire for meaning & fulfillment? Before it’s your turn to thrive in your life, instead of barely surviving it? Some people live their dreams. WHY NOT YOU?

Ok, granted, we could take this and run with it in the wrong direction, but I think she has a point.  We often ARE “made to feel guilty if we are single-minded about going after something we want.”  We often DO “go on to believe that our desires are selfish, our self-love is arrogant & pompous.” Is it God who discourages us from living our dreams?  Is it God who sees our desires as selfish or self arrogant and pompous?

“Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

It’s a bold statement.

“Indeed, if we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that our Lord finds our desires, not too strong, but too weak.”

I was sharing this quote with my husband a little while ago, and in the course of the conversation, I realized that I’m coming to a place where I refuse to feel guilty for wanting certain things.  My Father is a King… and that means that I’m entitled (I use that term very specifically and very carefully) to certain things.  I need to stop feeling guilty for desiring the very things that Jesus died to give me.

.

Related Articles:

More “Thursday’s Thoughts”

This entry was posted in PERSONAL, Thursday's Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday’s (eventually I’ll actually post one of these on a Thursday) Thought: Jillian Michaels on Desire

  1. Jana says:

    What beautiful girls!!! Love them 🙂

Leave a Reply

