A Garden Enclosed

Wives were created to be gardens, places of beauty and rest, rich with the fragrance of ripening fruit and blooming flowers, cool with shade and bubbling springs, mysterious, exotic, delights to their husbands’ souls. If you’re married, then you are your husband’s garden…

(Andrea Parunak, A Garden Enclosed: The Importance of Modesty… and Immodesty)

Today I had the privilege of photographing a session unlike any I’ve ever done before.  There won’t be a sneak peak of these pictures and they won’t be going up in my portfolio.  These are pictures for one person to enjoy – a gift from a wife to a husband.

Since I was first contacted about the idea behind this session, I’ve been thinking about what a beautiful gift it is, a wife having her body captured in an intimate way – a celebration not only of her body, but of her marriage.  I imagine a woman coming back to do a session like this every few years, celebrating her marriage and her body as it ages and ripens and matures.  I imagine a husband looking back on the “wife of his youth” and smiling over the changes they have experienced together, physically and emotionally.  I imagine a celebration of each new line and wrinkle and curve as not only her body, but their marriage changes and develops over the years.  I imagine them at the ripe old age of 80, flipping through the pages of a secret but well worn photo album, smiling and laughing over the past, the present, and their imaginings of the future.  I picture her smiling and commenting on how the years have affected her body, and her husband smiling back and telling her how beautiful she is.  I imagine him flipping to the back of the album, where the wrinkles and stretch marks reside and telling her “I like this best.”  I imagine them putting the book away and wrapping their arms around each other and celebrating their bodies once more, remembering the past, thanking God for the present, and praying for the future.

Rejoice with the wife, of thy youth. Let her be as the loving hind and pleasant roe; let her breasts satisfy thee at all times; and be thou ravished always with her love.

.

Category: Celebrating Marriage

Tags: Boudoir Photography Bowling Green KY, Nude Photography Bowling Green KY, special gift for husband Bowling Green KY, special anniversary Bowling Green KY

This entry was posted in - PHOTOGRAPHY -, Adults, Celebrating Marriage, Modesty in Portraits, Portfolio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Garden Enclosed

  1. Mrs. Parunak says:

    Hi Rina! I’m just catching up on your blog again after Elijah’s birth and our big five-week trip out west. I’ve been enjoying all your posts (especially the one about the CAR you called 911 about) and loving all your gorgeous pictures. I just had to comment on this post, though, because it is such a GREAT idea. So many of the photographers out there who take this kind of picture would never keep it secret and private and protect it for the couple, so it would never be safe for a modest woman to do for her husband. But I know how precious it is for husbands to have intimate pictures of their wives. It’s so wonderful that you’re filling this gap!

    • Rina says:

      Mrs. P, thank you for your comment on this, I was actually wondering what your thoughts would be! This session was so incredibly special to me, I pray that we have many, many more of them.

  2. Mrs. Jones says:

    Wow, this post actually made me cry. What a beautiful gift you gave to both of them being able to do that.

  3. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

