Couch to 10k

After reading Donald Miller’s excellent book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years (I devoured it over the course of a day… read This Post for an excellent synopses of the book), I decided to apply the principles he learned on his journey to a small area of my life and create an “inciting incident,” of my own.  I chose to force myself into something I’ve wanted for a long time, but haven’t actually gotten the gumption to work for on a consistent basis.  I’ve signed up for a 10k.  I didn’t just sign up, I posted it on facebook and asked people to join in with me.  Because it would be easy to withdraw if it were just Manuela and I going to run it (I know she loves me, she’d forgive me!) but it’s another thing, entirely, to ask a group of people to do this with me and then bale out.  Now, some people have signed up with me, I’ve paid my $30 and there’s no going back.  I’m going to run a 10k.  This, from the girl who has only done a 5k twice, hasn’t exercised consistently in weeks, and rarely ever runs.  This, from the girl who went jogging with Manuela the other night and couldn’t manage a mile.  This, from the girl whose legs are still sore from that lap around the block.  Did I mention I only have four weeks to train for this?

I could have signed up for a 5k on the same day, I probably even should have, but the problem with signing up for a 5k is that there is a delusional part of me that thinks I can do it.  And that delusional part of me will lull me into thinking that I can sit on the couch for the next month, eating popcorn and watching Biggest Loser, and still effortlessly pull off a 5k in October.  But there is no such delusion regarding the 10k.  In fact, I went into this with the knowledge that I probably COULDN’T do it, but by golly I was going to try!

But then I mentioned it to my dad.  And my dad lit a fire under me with four little words that are going to push me to my absolute limit over the next four weeks.  He said:

“You can’t do it.”

He didn’t just say I couldn’t, he spent a good 5 minutes on the phone with me, trying to convince me that it was a bad idea and there was “no possible way” I could run that distance.  I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt and assume that he wasn’t really trying to convince his daughter that she wasn’t good enough, but doing some reverse psychology on me for motivational purposes.  If so, he couldn’t have done a better job.  If there is anything, ANYTHING, I hate it’s to be told I can’t do something.  I promise you, if I don’t run every single mile of that 10k it’s because it was physically impossible for me to do so.

So, what began as a clever tactic to push myself into exercising each day has become a full on battle to prove to myself and everyone around me that I can do it.

Bring it.

And the little bitty voice inside of me screams: “what have I gotten myself into?!!!”
Hushup, little bitty voice!!!

.

Categories: Weight Loss, Running

.

Related Articles:

Run For Lisa

Couch to 10k… the results!!!

This entry was posted in Daybook, PERSONAL, Running, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Couch to 10k

  1. jamie jarboe says:

    Make Coach eat his words:) Run, Rina, Run!

  2. Pingback: From 260lbs to 6.2 Miles | Rina Marie

  3. Pingback: If You Run, You Are A Runner | Rina Marie

  4. Pingback: Yes, I Can | Rina Marie

  5. Pingback: NOT a setback! | Rina Marie

  6. Pingback: Couch to 10k… the results! | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

