Run For Lisa

Running has become something more than a form of exercise for me.  It’s become many things, important things I’m not even ready to talk about yet.  Today I signed up for a half-marathon taking place in November that is about something important not just to myself but to many others as well.

Several months ago, my aunt Lisa was diagnosed with ovarian cancer.  She is currently going through treatment and determined to beat this thing.  Lisa has always been an amazingly strong woman, and continues to be strong through her treatment.  A few weeks ago, in the middle of her chemotherapy treatments, she walked a 5k (3.1 miles) fundraising event for Ovarian Cancer.  And gave me an idea.

I can’t physically be there for my aunt each day (she lives several states away), but I can physically do something on her behalf every day.  I can’t fight cancer with special medications or treatments, but I can fight it through prayer and spiritual warfare.    And I can ask other people to get involved with me, in prayer and support on her behalf.

And so, I’m dedicating my first half marathon race, taking place in November, to my aunt Lisa and asking for sponsors who will help me to raise money for an organization that is very special to her – the Celma Mastry Ovarian Cancer Foundation.  There will be times when it will be painful.  There will be times when it’s so hard I want to quit.  There will be times when the only thing that keeps me going is the thought that in doing this, I’m showing her, in some small way, how very much I love her.

I have created a donation page for anyone who would like to lend their support and prayers on behalf of my aunt Lisa.  You can access it Here, or through the “donate” tab at the bottom of the page.  If you’d like to track my progress as I work toward this goal, you can click on the “Run, Rina, Run!” link here, or at the top of this website.

Aunt Lisa, I love you so very much and I’m fighting for you – both physically and spiritually.  You are an incredible person and with every step I take that brings me closer to crossing that finish line on November 12, you will be in my thoughts and my prayers.


Donate Now!

This entry was posted in PERSONAL, Running, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Run For Lisa

  1. Pingback: Yes, I Can | Rina Marie

  2. Pingback: Couch to 10k… the results! | Rina Marie

  3. Pingback: Well… I did it. From 260lbs to half marathon!!! | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

