Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

A few days ago, I made it a goal to run 3 miles in less than an hour, and wasn’t sure if I’d done it in 35 minutes or 45 minutes.

Well, now I know.

Because I timed today’s run and during my last three mile run, not only did I walk a few times, and take the hills slowly, but I also didn’t feel like I was going to throw up by the end of it.  Today was a whole different story.  🙂

3 miles, nonstop, in 34 minutes!!!  What is really cool about this, is to look at my numbers, over the past few weeks:

Sept 11 – 2 miles in an hour.  I couldn’t run the entire way and apparently when I did run, I was practically crawling.

Sept 15 – 6 miles, in about 2 hours (ran a few times between these two dates, but I didn’t keep track.)  The last two miles of this run were literally me putting one foot in front of the other and bouncing just a little… I could have walked it faster.

Sept 22 – 3 miles, 2 hours (did a round of P90x between this one and the 6 mile, so I was slow and hurting.)

Sept 23 – 3 miles, 1 1/2 hours (still hurting!) 🙂

Sept 25 – 6 miles, 1 1/2 hours (walked some, ran some)

Sept 29 – 3 miles, 45 minutes (walked some, ran some)

Oct 2 – 3 miles, 34 minutes (all running.)

It’s amazing to think that someone can go from run/walking two miles in two hours (and that run/walk was seriously kicking my tail) to running 3 miles in 34 minutes, in less than a month.  I hope that’s an encouragement to anyone who is trying to achieve an exercise goal, especially a run.

I think back on all the times I was crawling up those hills, bouncing my legs and moving them across a distance of about six inches with every step, angry with myself because I was going SO SLOW, and feeling like it was all pointless.  But I kept telling myself “this is how you train your legs to do what they need to do!” and kept going.  I’d think of the words of Hal Higdon, on his 10k training schedule:  “Put one foot in front of the other and run. It sounds pretty simple, and it is. Don’t worry about how fast you run; just cover the distance–or approximately the distance suggested.”  I’d think of the words of my friend, Patrick: “it doesn’t matter if you run it, or walk it, or CRAWL it, just move your body across the distance assigned for that day.”  And I’d move.  And I got faster.  And I went further.

I guess sometimes it’s not about doing it well.  Sometimes it’s just about doing it

That’s a lesson applicable to a lot more than a jog around the neighborhood.

This entry was posted in Running, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

  1. Pingback: I Love People | Rina Marie

  2. Pingback: Yes, I Can | Rina Marie

  3. Pingback: NOT a setback! | Rina Marie

  4. Pingback: The Great Turkey Run 5k and a VERY different Thanksgiving | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

