NINE MILES!!!

Is anyone else getting sick of hearing me talking about running?  I’m almost getting sick of hearing myself talk about it.  Almost.  Well, no, not really.  But I do wonder how much longer my friends are going to be able to stand me.  🙂

We did it!  Today, Manuela and I ran 9 miles!  N-I-N-E!  Actually, nine point TWO, to be accurate (because that .2 counts!  Oh, how it counts!)  It felt AMAZING.  It also felt painful and overwhelming and tiring, but that’s just part of what made it amazing!

I think I’m starting to come to terms with this whole running thing.  I was already gasping for air when Runkeeper notified us that we’d been going for a whole five minutes, but at one point, when we’d been going for an hour and realized we still had an hour and a half to go (our GPS lost track of us, so we decided to run for 2 1/2 hours and assume we’d hit nine miles… thankfully our GPS found us again, so we didn’t have to rely on assumption), I realized I had to accept the fact that we were going to be running for a LONG time and things got easier after that (mentally, anyway.)  There was even a moment, about halfway through, when I enjoyed it…  For about 15 minutes.

But I didn’t hate it the rest of the time, and that’s a major improvement.  🙂  And it felt SO AMAZING to know that I was doing something I never would have dreamed possible, and working toward a goal I never would have thought was obtainable.

When I got home, I had this waiting for me in my inbox:

.

Is it odd that an automated congratulatory email makes me happy?

10k on Saturday!!!

.

Categories: Weight Loss, Running

This entry was posted in PERSONAL, Running, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NINE MILES!!!

  1. Pingback: My First Running Injury | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

