The Presence of God

My mother-in-law, Elaine, left today, to go back home after having taken care of me and the kids for the past week while waiting on our new baby (details on that coming soon, I promise!)  It’s always sad when she leaves and I always feel a little bit homesick after she’s gone.  Elaine is a quiet servant… while she’s here, the house runs more smoothly and she does it all in such a way that I almost don’t even see it being done. Today after she left, I felt especially sad and it seemed that everywhere I looked there was a little reminder of her presence and her love for us – a stack of clean washcloths in the bathroom and clean clothes on the dresser.  The bed she slept in, all made up with our covers instead of hers.  Her air mattress, which she left with us so my husband could get some decent sleep while the baby sleeps with me in the bed for the first few weeks.  The water distiller running.  An empty trash can.

As I thought about how much I missed her, and how her presence seemed everywhere in the house, it made me wonder how much of God’s presence is in our home, and how much of it I don’t see.  Granted, it might not be as tangible as a stack of clean laundry or a running distiller, but what am I missing, when I don’t pay attention?  How many signs of love does God leave me, daily, that I simply miss?

I pray that God will help me become more aware of His presence on a day to day basis.  I pray He will open my eyes to His love for me and draw me closer to Him every day.

This entry was posted in Daybook, Just Thoughts, Love, Miscellaneous, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Presence of God

  1. Patti says:

    Your a blessed Godly woman.

  2. Mrs. Jones says:

    While reading this I was thinking about how much of your presence permeates your home the same way, ways that you do not even notice either…that bless your family as your mother in laws did. What a blessing to have her in your life…and congrats on the newest addition…I miss out on announcements now that I’m not on Facebook. But I’ve got my blog reader working now so I can hopefully keep up that way. Bless you! 🙂 enjoy your Babymoon!!!

  3. What a sweet tribute! Sounds like you are incredibly blessed.

Leave a Reply

