Where do we go from here?

LR 20130717-DSC_0346

Cheap and easy DIY milkstand
(for when a friend’s full-sized goat comes to visit your herd of miniatures!)

One of the dreams Jon and I have is for him to be able to stay at home full time, and lately I’ve been asking myself the question: “where are we going from here?!”  God has taken us so far, in such a short amount of time and I want to know where we’re headed next!!!  What’s the goal?  What’s the end product?  What direction do we want our little farm to head in?!

And as I ask myself that question, a little voice tells me we need to be “smart.”  We need to be diverse and choose things that will require minimal effort for maximum return (growing herbs, for instance.)  And a logical part of me agrees.  For sure, if it were up to me my love for animals would probably lead me into one of the most labor intensive of all farming ventures and there are other things that would be much more profitable in the long term!

But you know what I realized today?  I realized that I can’t think of any agricultural pursuit – any at all – that I would love more than milking a bunch of cows, or caring for goats and sheep.  I can’t think of anything more enjoyable than to wake up every morning to the symphony of animal calls and licks of the tongue and wags of the tail and the feel of soft little (and big!) bodies under my hands.  Is it time-intensive?  Yes!  Is it hard work?  Absolutely!  Is it the slowest way we could work our way toward some of our goals?  Possibly.  But in the end, it’s where my heart is and I think that means something.

And I realized something else today, too. I don’t have to figure it all out.  I’m blessed to be in a position right now where I’m free to take one step at a time and focus on what I love.  And if the past is any indication of the future, I’m pretty sure that’s exactly what God wants me to do.  🙂

… So if anyone knows of a good milk cow for sale, we’re interested!  😉

This entry was posted in Daybook, Farm & Garden, Homemaking, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

