You know it’s going to be a long day when….

(Completely unrelated video, just for fun!)

Jon and I worked all afternoon putting up fencing for the cow’s new rotation (we were also supposed to work on the goat fence but never got to it.) In fact, we didn’t get much of anything done and by the end of several excruciating hours in the sun, we had gotten exactly two T-posts hammered into the ground. Mostly because we were out there having conversations like this:

Jon: We need to come 20 feet from this fence, right?

Rina: Yes, but we have to come 20 feet from the fence AT THIS ANGLE

J: Why at that angle?

R: Because if we don’t fence it at this angle, the paddock sizes are going to be off

J: How will they be off?

R: Because THIS line doesn’t run parallel to THAT line, see how it kinda…. does THIS? And then it kinda…. does THIS? See?

J: No.

R: Look – see the fence? See it go like THIS… and then go like THAT?

J: I have no idea what you’re talking about.

R: Nevermind, just trust me. We need to put the T-post here.

(20 minutes later, after putting up the entire line of electric fence)

R:  Oh no. We were supposed to come 30 feet from the fence!

J:  What? Why?

R:  Because this is the lane. See?

J:  No.

R:  Yea, look… see how the fence comes over like THIS? And then it goes like THAT? And the lane has to be here. See?

J:  I have no idea what you’re talking about.

R:  Well, look, if you put the cow HERE, then she has to have access to the lane HERE and if you put the lane over THERE then the paddocks will be too small.

J:  So we put it in the wrong place.

R:  Yea.

J:  So it needs go to here?

R:  Well, it needs to go a little to the left… parallel to the fence. Look, pretend I’m a T-square (I hold up my arms.) See?

At this point he gave me a look I’d give anything to have on camera. Shortly after, we decided to put off the fencing as tomorrows project.

.

And while I’m writing about stimulating, interesting conversations Jon and I had today… Here’s another fun little chat we had tonight…

.

J:  What sounds good for dinner?

R:  I don’t know… what do we have?

5 minutes later

J:  I’m going to cook beans and rice for dinner.

R:  Sounds good to me

2 minutes later

J:  I can’t cook beans and rice, the burners are broken.

R:  Oh, I forgot. What else do we have?

5 minutes later

J:  Well, we have a bunch of different stuff, and none of it really goes together. Peppers, onions, oatmeal, a little bit of cheese.

R:  Why don’t we saute the peppers and onions and make rice with gravy? We have chicken broth.

J:  You want to make gravy with cheese and chicken broth? Ew.

R:  Don’t we have flour?

J:  Oh, yea. Okay.

5 minutes later

J:  We can’t make gravy because the burners are broken.

Dear Liza, Dear Liza

This entry was posted in Daybook, Farm & Garden, Humor, PERSONAL. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You know it’s going to be a long day when….

  1. yes! this is so true. I always love yours and Jon’s conversations. It is too funny. Obw, Can I cook you guys something?

    • Rina says:

      YES! You can make cheese for us from now on. My incompetence in the kitchen reached new heights today when I started three batches measuring the temperature via celsius instead of fahrenheit. LOL!

  2. Pingback: Seven Quick Takes – July 22, 2013 | Rina Marie

  3. Pingback: Seven… er… Eight Quick Takes – August 9, 2013 | Rina Marie

Leave a Reply

